JLO Breaks Down The Meaning Of Her New Album Title This is me…now

1 min read

8 years after the release of her last LP, Jennifer Lopez announces that she will be dropping her ninth studio album on the 20th anniversary of This Is Me . . . Then titled This Is Me . . . Now. 

JLO admits that the forthcoming record is her most personal and most honest project to date:

“Kind of a culmination of who I am as a person and an artist. People think they know things about what happened to me along the way, the men I was with — but they really have no idea, and a lot of times they get it so wrong. There’s a part of me that was hiding a side of myself from everyone. And I feel like I’m at a place in my life, finally, where I have something to say about it.”

Speaking with Apple Music’s Zane Lowe, Lopez explained why she decided to share This Is Me . . . Now:

“Twenty years ago, I fell in love with the love of my life. I was working on an album, and it was called ‘This Is Me . . . Then.’ It was all about capturing that moment in time,” she said. “Now, the most amazing, incredible, unbelievable thing has happened. The reason we’re here is because I want to capture this moment in time because it is even better than the first time.”

This Is Me . . . Then, released in 2002, coincided with the early years of her relationship with Ben Affleck. Twenty years later, history repeats itself as she gets ready to share This Is Me . . . Now

The anticipated 13-track record includes “confessional songs, reflections on the trials of [Lopez’s] past, and upbeat celebrations of love.” It also spotlights Lopez’s “tough childhood, unsuccessful relationships, and [her] incredible emotional journey.”

See the full tracklist for This Is Me . . . Now below:

  1. “This Is Me . . . Now” 
  2. “To Be Yours” 
  3. “Mad in Love” 
  4. “Can’t Get Enough” 
  5. “Rebound” 
  6. “Not. Going. Anywhere.” 
  7. “Dear Ben Pt. II” 
  8. “Hummingbird” 
  9. “Hearts and Flowers” 
  10. “Broken Like Me” 
  11. “This Time Around” 
  12. “Midnight Trip to Vegas” 
  13. “Greatest Love Story Never Told”

Watch the full interview on YouTube: