Silver Moth, a post-rock group, shares their new ethereal single “The Eternal” through a live stream.

1 min read

Silver Moth, a post-rock collective led by Stuart Braithwaite of Mogwai, has recently released their ethereal new single “The Eternal” from their upcoming album “Black Bay.” The album, which is set to be released on April 21 by Bella Union Records, features a range of musicians including Braithwaite’s wife Elisabeth Elektra, Steven Hill, guitarist in Evi Vine, multi-instrumentalist Ben Roberts, and Vine herself, alongside drummer Ash Babb of Burning House/Academy Of Sun and guitarist Matthew Rochford of Abrasive Trees.

The band was formed after Elektra and Rochford had a Twitter exchange about the Isle of Lewis, which eventually led to the band members visiting Great Bernera’s Black Bay Studios on the Isle of Lewis in the Outer Hebrides to record the songs in just four days. Despite not having met before, the band members were able to create a powerful, celestial, and driven album. Evi Vine stated that, “We spend our lives in repetition, surrounded by certainty. It’s important to push aside the things we think we understand because when we least expect it, change comes and we are lost.”

“Black Bay” contains six tracks that will delight fans of progressive-leaning post-rock. The haunting “Mother Tongue” has a Talk Talk-ish vibe, while the hypnotic spoken-word piece “Gaelic Psalms” is based on a poem by Rochford’s late father Gerard Rochford. The album also features the 15-minute long “Hello Doom” that takes the listener on a journey of dark and introspective soundscapes.

Overall, “Black Bay” promises to be a strong addition to Silver Moth’s discography and a must-listen for fans of post-rock. The release of “The Eternal” only adds to the excitement and anticipation for the album’s arrival on April 21.